GIVEAWAY: Black-Eyed Susans

I recently had the pleasure of reading an advanced copy of Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin. As a born & raised Texan with close ties to Fort Worth, I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading & found that the story is set in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The author grew up in Decatur, Texas, which is near Ponder, Texas, the setting for her previous novel Playing Dead(Author portrait by Jill Johnson)

Here is a description of Black-Eyed Susans:

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

A girl's memory lost in a field of wildflowers.
A killer still spreading seeds.

At seventeen, Tessa became famous for being the only surviving victim of a vicious serial killer. Her testimony put him on death row. Decades later, a mother herself, she receives a message from a monster who should be in prison. Now, as the execution date rapidly approaches, Tessa is forced to confront a chilling possibility: Did she help convict the wrong man?

Of course, these days just about every mystery is compared to Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl. However, Julia Heaberlin earns the high praise, but is definitely her own type of author. I am a big fan of mysteries, but I don't like gore. Black-Eyed Susans was the perfect book for me because it kept me interested from page one, had me in suspense, but wasn't graphic and scary like many other suspenseful mysteries, especially one about a serial killer!

I am really looking forward to reading Julia's previous books, Lie Still and Playing Dead. All are set in Texas, but please don't let that deter you if you aren't a Texan! If you are a Texas resident, be sure to check out one of Julia's upcoming book signings celebrating the release of Black-Eyed Susans

US release date August 11th
UK release date August 14th

August 11th, 7 p.m. • Black-Eyed Susans Publication Day • Talk & Signing
Barnes & Noble - Hulen Center, 4801 Overton Ridge Blvd. #100, Fort Worth, TX

August 17th, 6:30 p.m. • Talk & Signing
Decatur Public Library, 1700 S. Hwy 51, Decatur, TX

More events listed on Julia's website.

*** GIVEAWAY - Closed - Congrats Chey-Anne Smart & @daniewoods (Instagram) ***
 PRIZE: Two lucky winners will receive a copy of
Black-Eyed Susans! (US residents only)

TO ENTER: Like author Julia Heaberlin on Facebook and leave a comment noting you have done so.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Share this giveaway on Facebook or another social media site, then leave a comment noting that you shared.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Leave a comment noting a favorite book you have recently read.

ADDITIONAL ENTRY: Visit our Instagram feed @funky_finds & like the photo of Black-Eyed Susans for an extra chance!

Giveaway ends at 6pm CST, Friday, July 31st, 2015.

Funky Finds Holiday Shopping Experience


Shop Local Shop Handmade Shop Funky

The Funky Finds Holiday Shopping Experience will be held Saturday, November 7th, 10am-5pm and Sunday, November 8th, 11am-4pm.

As always, the event will be held in the small exhibits building (aka Poultry Barn) at the Will Rogers Memorial Center located at 3409 Burnett-Tandy Drive, Fort Worth, TX 76107.

Vendor applications are now open through July 31st! 
You can find all the detailed vendor information here.

We are also accepting advertisers & sponsors for this event. The sooner you reserve your ad or commit to a sponsor package, the sooner we can begin promoting your funky business!

The Funky Finds Holiday Shopping Experience is a FREE 2-day family AND pet-friendly handmade shopping event!

Bring the family and be a part of the funky fun featuring over 100 Artists, Crafters, Designers, Authors & Gourmet Food Makers selling their unique hand-crafted items!

Attend Both Days...it's that FUNKY!
EVENT FEATURES:
• Handmade Shopping Extravaganza
• 150 Swag Bags & Charitable Raffle
• Pet Adoptions by HSNT    • Toys For Tots Drop Off
• Photos with SANTA CLAUS   • Funky Finds Balloons for All
• Event T-shirts for Charity & More!

Find items in the following categories:
Accessories • Art • Authors • Bath, Body & Candles • Ceramics & Pottery • Clothing • Gourmet Food • Holiday & Seasonal • Home Goods & Decor • Jewelry • Kids & Parents • Paper Goods • Pet Goods • Photography • Plants